I Hug Avocados

Now here is a blogger challenge I can really get behind – Katie’s Hug A Fat challenge.  She’s encouraging everyone to get out there and hug their favorite *healthy* fat.  Choosing my favorite fat was not easy – I love nut butters, almonds and coconut… but in the end, avocado won.  I love avocado.  So much that I went ahead and hugged it.

Not pictured:  I kissed it too.  And then I cooked with it.  On the menu tonight was black bean veggie burgers on the grill & a strawberry/avocado salad.  My salad was inspired by this post from Organic Undergrad.  After seeing the strawberry & avocado combination, I knew I needed to try my own.

Let’s start with the salad.  Into the bowl:

  • 15 strawberries
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 1.5 tbsp light raspberry vinaigrette dressing
  • a bit of cilantro

I’m not a fan of cilantro.  It tastes like soap to me.  But Pat loves it, so I tried to use a little – and set the rest out so he could add more to his portion.  The strawberries we got had some interesting shapes.

The final product was pretty.  This was a really good one, I will be making it again.

But I didn’t stop there.  After having an avocado burger earlier in the week I was craving more, so I added avocado slices to my veggie burger.  I ate it on wheat thins with Laughing Cow garlic & herb cheese and ketchup.

The veggie burger had a strong black bean taste, which I really liked.  But if I were to ever give up meat, this does not come close to replacing a thick burger.   I would eat this again though.

In the spirit of the challenge, what is your favorite (healthy) fat?

7 responses to “I Hug Avocados

  1. Awww you are radiant! As is that strawberry. Hehe I hate cilantro too. Poor cilantro!

  2. What a colorful and appealing dinner! I don’t like cilantro either – and yet it is quite popular.

    My favorite healthy fat is almonds (although I really love the unhealthy versions too much!)

    • Maybe not liking cilantro is genetic? Pat says that it tastes like soap just to a certain percentage of people. Almonds are high on my list too!

  3. Pingback: Your “Hug a Fat” Photo Shoot « Chocolate-Covered Katie

  4. Pingback: Dinner Party « Home Sweet Houston

  5. Pingback: 2010 Recap | Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

