6 Miles

It’s been awhile!  I have neglected this blog for too long.  I actually considered starting a new blog on a new topic, but Pat encouraged me to come back to this one, after all the work I put into it earlier this year.  So, here I am!

I spent the months of March – October running on our treadmill.  It’s very convenient, but not very exciting.  I wasn’t very consistent with my running, and never made it more than 2 or 3 miles at a time.  So I decided to try running outside. There are a number of reasons excuses for why I have not really run outside up to this point.  Such as a fear of it being harder, not knowing my time & distance, weather, and safety concerns in running by myself.  But when Pat agreed to go to Memorial Park with me 2 weeks ago, I decided it was time to give outside running a try.

And I LOVED it.  There are so many people on the 2.93 mile track, the people watching alone makes the time fly by.  It felt good to feel like I was really moving, and I found that I didn’t get tired so quickly (probably because I always push the speed on the treadmill, out of boredom).

Last Saturday I ran/walked about 5.85 miles in 1 hour, 9 minutes.  It felt great, and I felt proud of myself for completing that distance, even if I had to walk a lot of it.  I went home and ordered a Garmin Forerunner 305.  I figured that if I bought an expensive toy, then I would have to use it.

I continued to push myself with shorter runs this past week, knowing that my GPS would be delivered on Friday, and I would want to test it out with a long run on Saturday.  Last night was a late night, but I still made it out of bed by 7:30 AM (thanks to Bailey, who is always an early riser), and I made it to the park by 9:30 AM.

I ran six miles this morning, without stopping once.  In the rain.  This is the farthest distance I have run in my entire life, and it felt great!  I took it slow and easy – my goal pace was 11 min miles.  And as the miles flew by, I knew I could make it the entire six.  I ran 6 miles in 1:04:15. My average pace was 10:43.   I don’t have the split between miles because I still haven’t figured out that feature on the Garmin.  Does anyone have suggestions??

I didn’t feel winded at all until I hit 2.5 miles (this usually happens during the first mile).  I actually felt really strong, up until 4.5 miles.  That’s when the rain really picked up, my knee began to hurt and I found myself struggling to keep my 11:00 pace.  I tried to pick other people on the trail to keep up with, to encourage myself to keep going.  And once I saw that I hit 5 miles, and then 5.5 miles, I really pushed it to race to the end.

My left knee was killing me by the end, but it felt 10 times better as soon as I stopped running.  I stretched a little before leaving the park, but felt self-conscious and decided to head home to finish stretching.  This was probably a bad idea because my calves have continued to hurt all day.

I’ve decided that I will register for a race this weekend.  According to this article, it’s the best way to stay motivated to continue running.  I will also put together a training plan for whichever distance I end up choosing.

Any tips for a runner recently converted from the treadmill?

One response to “6 Miles

  1. I wish I did but I am in the same spot as you are. ACtually, I’m not a good runner EITHER places.

Leave a Reply

