I Heart My Garmin

The Garmin has made running so much more fun for me.  It’s all the statistics it displays – I love playing with the numbers.  It definitely pushes me, as I set mini time goals for myself.  I find that I am constantly watching my pace to make sure I’m running fast enough, but not too fast.  I’ve also noticed that I never seem to keep a steady speed.

My goal for today was to run 3 miles, increasing my speed slightly each mile.  I wanted my run to average a 10:20 pace.  I did not increase my speed each mile, but I did average a 10:08 pace.  I probably could have increased each mile if I had just taken it a little more slowly in the beginning.  But I had to walk twice (about 30 seconds each time) during the final mile.  My splits were:

  • Mile 1:  10:18
  • Mile 2:  9:59
  • Mile 3:  10:07
  • Total:  30:24

As I got closer to the end, I really wanted to do the 3 miles in 30 minutes, but I just didn’t have it in me.  However, even walking for about a minute total, my final mile was better than my first.  Maybe walk breaks aren’t so bad!  I wasn’t as sore today either.

3 responses to “I Heart My Garmin

  1. You’re back! Yay! And you were definitely close enough to the 30:00 minute mile :)

  2. That’s why I want to get a garmin. I think it might make running a little more fun!

Leave a Reply

