My First Green Monster

I first read about the green monster on Eat, Live, Run.  Frozen smoothies with fruit and… spinach??  As someone who wouldn’t eat “anything green” for many years of her life, it sounded disgusting.  But as I’ve been looking through recipes on the Green Monster Movement, I decided to give them a try.  I’ve been trying to add more fruit and veggies into my diet, and this sounded like a great way to start the day.  It couldn’t be that bad if so many people are making them daily, right?

My green monster included:

  • 2 cups light vanilla soy milk
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 banana
  • 10 strawberries
  • pineapple (leftover from last night)
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • ice

It made 2 servings, each under 200 calories. 

And the verdict was… not bad!  I thought it was a little tasteless actually, so I ended up adding a pack of Splenda to mine.  Pat was a little skeptical at first, but after hearing the nutrition value (and finishing off 2 cups), he asked if I could make these every morning 🙂

2 responses to “My First Green Monster

  1. OK – very healthy, but really? Spinach and flax tastes good? What is the flaxseed for?

    You know, Irene would enjoy comparing notes on healthy recipies. She is the one who told me about the arnolds wheat thins, and she knows a lot about healthy cooking. What would you think of my giving her the link to your blog?

  2. You really don’t taste the spinach with all the other ingredients! I didn’t taste the flaxseed either – flax is really good for you though. It has omega-3’s (which I don’t get enough of because I don’t like fish) and 1 tbsp has about 3g fiber and 2g protein.

    Feel free to share the link!

Leave a Reply

