Happy Cinco de Mayo!

We had a Cinco de Mayo celebration at work today.  I was on the planning committee, so we played Cinco de Mayo jeopardy – there was so much about the holiday that I didn’t know, it was fun to share with my work group.  For instance, did you know that Cinco de Mayo is not a national holiday in Mexico?  It’s not their independence day… it actually celebrates a battle that Mexico won against France in 1862 where they were outnumbered by two to one.  The first celebration in the U.S. was in California in 1863.

I celebrated again tonight on the driveway with neighbors, with a glass of red wine.  But before the celebration, I made dinner.  What else, but a recipe from my favorite recipe books… Hungry Girl’s sweet ‘n chunky chicken salad.

Pat was skeptical – he usually doesn’t do chicken salad or any other creamy “salad” but I convinced him to try a bite and he was sold!  I think he liked the lemon pepper seasoning.  With grapes, apple and cucumber, it was tasty on sandwich thins.

We’re doing a walking challenge at work for the next 8 weeks.  They gave us pedometers to track our steps each day.  I volunteered at the HSPCA tonight and thought it would be interesting to see how much I actually walk when I’m working there.  In just a little over an hour I had walked about 4,000 steps, or 2 miles.  Not bad!

Leave a Reply

