Fresh Basil

The plan for dinner tonight started with a desire to use the fresh basil growing in our backyard.  We decided pasta would be a good way to go.  I’m going to toot my own horn – I think this spaghetti recipe was probably the best spaghetti I’ve ever made, and it was probably thanks to the fresh basil.  It smelled SO good.

Into the pot:

  • 1 onion
  • 1 orange bell pepper
  • garlic
  • fresh basil
  • oregano (not pictured)

The end result was tasty!  I mixed in Kroger brand traditional spaghetti sauce.  It was the same sauce I used for the mini pizzas earlier in the week.  We enjoyed the spaghetti with a glass of merlot.

For dessert, I plan to have a skinny cow ice cream sandwich.  I am obsessed with these lately.  They were on sale at Kroger, so I bought them in 4 flavors:  mint chocolate, chocolate peanut butter, cookies n’ cream and vanilla.

2 responses to “Fresh Basil

  1. It all looks yummy!

  2. Pingback: 2010 Recap | Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

