National Hamburger Month

May is not just the month of my birthday – it’s National Hamburger Month!  To celebrate, I thought I would share these hamburger-related stories.  Enjoy!

  • I can’t stand the smell of White Castle.  It’s always made me feel sick.  But I must be in the minority, because they are now selling a hamburger scented candle – $10 at White Castle, to benefit Autism Speaks.

from Autism Speaks Official Blog

  • Whoa… this 590 pound hamburger in Canada may be the largest on record.  I guess someone was really hungry!
  •  Not just related to hamburgers, but… On May 11, Santa Clara County in California will be voting on an ordinance that would ban restaurants from giving out toys with kids meals that do not meet certain nutritional criteria.  Although there’s some resistance by those who don’t see the link between toys and childhood obesity, I think this is a brilliant idea and hope it catches on across the country.  If toys were only offered with meals that are actually healthy, this could encourage children to make healthier choices for themselves.

 What are your favorite toppings for a hamburger?  I like a classic cheeseburger with ketchup only.

3 responses to “National Hamburger Month

  1. I like a hamburger with cheddar cheese, onion, and barbeque sauce.

  2. Hey – did getting teenie beanies with the happy meals you DIDN’T EAT adict you? I think we were all sick of McD’s after that craze!

  3. Haha, good point – maybe they should switch to really cool toys so that parents are forced to go so often they never want to eat the food again.

Leave a Reply

