Sweet Tooth

My sweet tooth was in full force yesterday – I even broke down and bought some mini M&Ms at work because I wanted some chocolate.  I could tell when I woke up this morning that it was still there.  I also knew that it would be a day full of meetings, and a long/stressful day combined with my chocolate craving could lead to some bad food decisions if the vending machine at work had my only snack options.  So I decided to plan ahead, and incorporated my sweet tooth into the meals I packed for work today.

Oatmeal with strawberries & coconut for breakfast, leftover chicken pot pie for lunch, 100 calorie chocolate pretzels, string cheese, almonds and an apple for snacks.  Not pictured:  diet coke & the chocolate covered sunflower seeds my coworker brought that I snacked on throughout the day.  Unfortunately, the sunflower seeds replaced my apple snack.

I receive Hungry Girl daily emails, and there was a recipe swap on Monday for Starbucks Iced Dark Cherry Mocha.  I have tried these before (LOVE THEM), so I was excited to see a lower-calorie swap.  This is what I woke up craving this morning, but unfortunately, I did not have all the ingredients she required.  I also decided that I wanted a frozen version instead of a hot one.  So based on the HG recipe (and the ingredients I had on hand), I created my own – it had approximately 115 calories, the same as HG’s:

  • 1 packet diet hot chocolate
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar-free vanilla coffeemate
  • 1/4 cup frozen dark pitted cherries
  • 1/2 tbsp semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp Torani sugar-free vanilla syrup
  • 2 oz skim milk
  • 8 oz Almond Joy coffee
  • Ice

It was so good – really rich and chocolate-y.  Much better than it looks in the picture!

All in all, it was about 785 (planned) calories before dinner time.  I usually try to save more calories for the evening because I like to spend them on a good dinner and evening snack, but I knew that if I didn’t plan for the day, I could easily go way over my calorie goal.  I’m sure I did with all the chocolate covered sunflower seeds, but it could have been much worse.

It was a late night at work, so Pat had already ordered Chinese delivery by the time I got home.  My favorite Chinese restaurant around here (and the only one I’ve found that I actually like) is Cafe Ginger.  Their delivery is really fast.  They always say it will take 45 minutes, but they’re usually at our house in 15-20 min.  The meat is tender and not rubbery, the crab rangoon are delicious, and it’s a great deal – soup, side, rice and main meal for $10.  I always get the same – wonton soup, crab rangoon, brown rice and mongolian beef.  Pat gets the same, except he gets hot & sour soup.

Dessert was a few more bites of the red velvet cheesecake.  I’m hoping that after giving into my sweet tooth COMPLETELY today, I can get back on track tomorrow.

I was actually looking forward to my run on the treadmill tonight.  I cut another 1:20 off of my 5k run!  I ran/walked it in 37:05.  I’d like to eventually run 5k in under 30 min.  I have a way to go, but I’m making progress.  I just hope my knee holds up.  I can tell I’m really pushing it!

One response to “Sweet Tooth

  1. Pingback: Mac n’ Chicken « Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

