Manic Mondays

It was a busy day at work today!  Good thing I had lots of snacks to get me through:

Oatmeal w/ strawberries & coconut, leftover meat-free chili, sugar-free chocolate pudding, string cheese, Special K tomato basil crackers, blueberries and strawberries.  The blueberries were so sweet!

For dinner tonight I decided to try Caitlin’s Santa Fe Casserole.  She listed it as her favorite casserole ever, so I thought it must be pretty good!  My favorite casserole ever is this recipe for Swiss Chicken Casserole.  So bad for you, but sooo good.  Anyway, back to the healthy recipe 🙂

Isn’t it pretty?  Red onion and garlic, mmm.

All the goodies mixed together.  I didn’t have any red beans so I used black beans instead.

All set to go in the oven.  Now, it only had to bake in the oven for 25 minutes.  But it wasn’t a quick meal – I had to cook the brown rice, saute the onion and garlic, and mix the other ingredients first.  The kitchen smelled good though!

Doesn’t it look tasty?  It was!  But I was expecting (and craving) something cheesy, and this was not super cheesy.  I added a slice of Laughing Cow swiss cheese.  I think just about every dish needs some LC.  My favorite thing about casseroles is that you’ve got leftovers for the rest of the week.  What’s your favorite casserole recipe?

One response to “Manic Mondays

  1. Mmm – that looks very good! I don’t really have favorite casserole recipes. Most involve cheese, or cream or cream of mushroom soup – and Dad doesn’t care for those. So – we eat very little casserole food. I love Irene’s potato casserole – but it doesn’t belong on a healthy eating blog!

Leave a Reply

