Is It Friday Yet?

This week seems to be dragging.  I should be heading to bed, but I’ll leave you with a quick post.

After work tonight Pat and I went to look at a townhome for friends who will be moving to Houston soon, but aren’t able to visit for a house hunting trip.  I LOVE looking at homes!  It’s fun to pick out what I like and don’t like.  Here are some highlights from the townhome tonight:

This room did not match the rest of the townhome.  Apparently the previous owner was a UT fan.  Don’t you love the splotchy look on the walls and the bright orange trim?  Nothing a little paint couldn’t fix.  The kitchen was nice and big:

So was the master bathroom.

I don’t know what my deal is with bathrooms, but when we bought our house, the master bath was one of the biggest selling points for me.  There’s something nice about having lots of space to get ready in the morning – and having his and her vanities.  My bathroom growing up had 2 sinks, but there were 3 of us girls to fight over them… and then there were the dorms and tiny bathrooms, where I had to share sinks with roommates & Pat.  I think those experiences have led me to truly value having my own sink now 🙂

Anyway, on to the food.  I packed good food to eat at work, but as usual, being in all day meetings led to some unplanned snacks of donuts and coconut m&ms.  It’s funny how quickly a little bit of stress can derail my good intentions.  After viewing the townhome, Pat and I decided to pick up some Subway on the way home.  I normally order either a tuna sandwich or oven roasted chicken with bell peppers, onion, tomato and sweet onion sauce.

But they had a new menu item tonight – Orchard Chicken Salad Sub.  I love chicken salad, and the description sounded so good – “flavorful chunks of tender chicken, crunchy celery, sweet red apples, golden raisins, cranberries and light creamy mayo.”  It was such a let down.  As you can see below, the sandwich came with very little of the chicken salad.  I added onions, tomato and spinach.  I ended up picking the tomato off because I couldn’t even taste the chicken salad with it.  I had a few bites of something sweet, but for the most part it was bland and tasted like an onion/spinach sandwich.  I will  not be ordering this again!

What is your favorite Subway sandwich?

3 responses to “Is It Friday Yet?

  1. I’ll be interested in what they say about the townhouse search. Hope you caught up on work last night. The chicken salad sounded good, but after your description, I think I’ll stick with my normal Subway order – tuna with onion, spinach, lettuce and cheese.

  2. I’ll let you know where they end up! The chicken salad sounded so good, but I’m not sure if I’m even going to eat the other half of the sandwich (I always order a foot long to have leftovers).

  3. Wow that home looked gorgeous!! Your lucky you can find such beautiful options!

Leave a Reply

