Mac n’ Chicken

I’ve been craving mac ‘n cheese.  I decided to use Annie’s classic as the basis for our dinner tonight – mac n’ cheese with chicken & veggies.

I chopped up veggies to mix in – 1 onion, 1/2 a red bell pepper & cherry tomatoes from our cousin’s garden.  She gave us a baggie last night, so I wanted to use them in our dinner tonight.  They were so good!  I usually don’t like tomatoes by themselves, but I sneaked a taste of these while I was chopping – they were a little sweet.

While I was chopping up the veggies, Pat worked on the chicken.

I cooked the chicken and veggies in one pan, with onion powder and pepper.

And had the mac n’ cheese going at the same time:

And then mixed them all together for the final product.

Pat dressed his up with extra pepper and wing sauce.  To each his own!

It was pretty good – definitely cheesey!  For dessert I made another dark cherry shake.  I didn’t think this recipe was as good as my first, but it was still pretty good – served in a pretty wine glass:

Into the blender:

  • 4 oz light vanilla soymilk
  • 4 oz water
  • 1 packet diet hot chocolate
  • 1/2 tbsp chocolate chips
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla syrup
  • 1/2 tbsp instant decaf coffee
  • 1/4 tbsp vanilla coffeemate
  • 1/4 cup frozen dark cherries
  • 1 packet splenda
  • Lots of ice
4 responses to “Mac n’ Chicken

  1. You are an innovative cook! I hope Pat appreciates the variety and healthy nature of your food!

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog! Your wedding cake sounds AMAZING. What a great idea! That mac’n’cheese is something my husband and I would eat. When we add meat to Annie’s we usually use natural chicken sausage 🙂

  3. Pingback: Grown-Up Mac n’ Cheese « Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

