The Grocery Post

I enjoy seeing what others buy at the grocery store, so I thought I’d do my own post.  We typically go to the grocery store once a week – what we spend can range anywhere from $50 – 100, but we try to keep our total grocery bill to no more than $300/month.  We usually shop at a nearby Kroger.  We try to make lists before we go, but always end up with a few extras in our cart.

Let’s start with the beverages.  Clearly, I did not give up Diet Coke.  These are staples in our household, and we typically stock up more when soda is on sale.

The alcohol.  I’m not a big drinker, but I do enjoy a glass of wine with dinner every now and then.  I usually pick a Riesling – I love anything sweet.  Pat has become a big fan of Lone Star beer recently.

I’m not going to lie – when I’m trying a new wine, I often base my selection on either the name or the label.

This one was pretty good.  Not as sweet as some Riesling, it was more crisp.

Onto the dry stuff.  Oatmeal – I usually just eat oatmeal for breakfast during the week, so one package lasts me a few weeks.  I eat red berry cereal (the Kroger version of Special K) for dessert some nights – I can easily go through a box a week.  It was on sale this weekend, so I got 2.  Yoplait Light is a good snack at work – I got vanilla and white chocolate strawberry this time.  Smart Balance Light – we don’t go through much butter, but we were running on low on the tub we bought last fall, so it was time.  The potato chips were an impulse buy for Pat and the almond butter was an impulse buy for me.

The vegetable broth, peanut oil, raspberry vinaigrette dressing, lime juice, quinoa and walnuts are all for particular recipes this week.  The chef boyardees were another impulse buy from Pat this week.  I think he was concerned with the lack of meat in our cart and decided to take action.  And they were on sale for just $1 a piece.

The fruit.  The produce we buy is usually a mix of what we need for particular recipes & what is on sale each week.  This week we ended up with: granny smith apples, gala apples (where were my pink ladys this week??), lemons, kiwi, strawberries, raspberries and craisins.

The rest of the produce – yellow and red onion, red and green bell pepper, carrots, an avocado, cilantro and ginger.

There you have it – our groceries for the week, all for about $91 this week.  Yikes!

Leave a Reply

