Waffle Fail

Katie wrote a post a few days ago about having breakfast for dinner and it took me down memory lane.  Breakfast is my favorite meal, so I do occasionally have breakfast for dinner.  In fact, on my first date with Pat (March 2004), I had eggs for dinner.  It was our freshman year of college and neither of us had cars, so he took me to One World, a restaurant just across the street from our dorms.  I love their scrambled eggs, what can I say?  He thought I was weird.  But he went out with me again (and eventually married me) anyway.

Her post about waffles for dinner also made me think of the times when my parents made waffles for dinner.  Those nights were always a special treat.  It was because of those memories that I added a waffle maker to our wedding registry, even though Pat swore I would never use it.  Well he was kind of right.  I had never used it – until today.

I couldn’t find the directions that came with it, and I wasn’t sure of exactly what I needed to do, but I thought to myself, I can just figure this out.  There were instructions on the back of the pancake mix on how to make pancakes, so I thought that would be enough.  Well, that was not a good thought to have.  As I say in my About Me, this blog is to document my “experiments” in the kitchen – and I suppose that includes the failures as well as the successes.

I started with Fiber One pancake mix.  I really like this stuff.  It’s filling, but not too high in calories (190 for 3 nice sized pancakes).

Before I get into the disaster that was to come, here’s the recipe I used – it actually tasted really good, I will try this again sometime!

  • 2 cups Fiber One Complete pancake mix
  • 1 1/4 cup light vanilla soymilk
  • 2 tbsp milled flaxseed
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

The box called for 2 tbsp vegetable oil, but I did not have any.  I also wasn’t sure if it really needed that oil, but thought I better add some in case it would change the consistency of the waffles.

Well, let’s get to it – when I went to open the waffle maker up, it wasn’t pretty.  This is what I saw.

I didn’t use any non-stick spray because the waffle maker supposedly has a non-stick interior.  However, the instructions (which I found online after making this mess) do say to coat the plates with butter or non-stick cooking spray.  Oops.  It also says that a light will come on when the waffle maker is ready – I waited a few minutes and the lights didn’t change, so I just put the batter in.  I probably should have waited a few more minutes.  Oops.  The instructions go on to tell me to not close the latch while cooking – the waffles need extra space to expand.  Oops.  Lessons learned.  Moving on…

Although the waffles were a failure, I still had some batter left and was determined to at least try to save breakfast.  I decided to switch to pancakes.  There was just enough for 1 thick pancake for each of us.

Served with Smart Balance Light & Log Cabin sugar-free maple syrup.

What is the biggest “beginner’s” mistake you have made in the kitchen?

3 responses to “Waffle Fail

  1. Oh no! Well, you’re braver than me… I’m so lazy I just use frozen waffles.
    I’ve definitely set off sparks in my microwave by putting tin foil in there 😦

  2. Oh my, that is a picture! It does bring back memories. I always sprayed the iron with Pam (and would repeat it after a few waffles). I also flipped the waffle iron over half way through the time so it cooked through more evenly. That seemed to help.

Leave a Reply

