Ginger Perfume

Tonight’s dinner was Chinese Tofu from The Front Burner.  I’ve only tried cooking with tofu once before so I knew it was going to be interesting.  I started with 1 cup of brown rice and the following spices + a little ginger root.

While the rice was cooking I whipped up the sauce and started on the tofu.  Pat stopped by the kitchen and commented on the small bowl of sauce.  He didn’t think it was going to be enough, and I wasn’t sure, so I added another 1/2 serving of the sauce to the bowl.  The original serving size would have been plenty.

I had no idea how long to cook the tofu, or what heat to cook it on.  I waited until it turned a little brown.

Since Casey’s recipe used frozen veggies, I decided mine would too.  It definitely made dinner a lot faster and saved on some clean up time!  I used a mix of all my favorite veggies – red, yellow and green bell pepper with onion.

After defrosting the veggies in the microwave, I mixed them into the tofu.

And then added the sauce mix.  The sauce definitely made the meal.  I substituted the sesame oil for peanut oil (I just couldn’t justify spending $10 on a tiny bottle at Kroger).  I also added a little extra brown sugar – I heart brown sugar.

I served the final product over brown rice.  It wasn’t used to the taste (or texture) of the tofu, but dinner was delicious!  Pat commented that ginger tastes like perfume.  But according to him, that’s not a bad thing 🙂  I liked the ginger, but I think he would have preferred more garlic than ginger – maybe I’ll try that next time.

For dessert we had green monsters.  Into the blender:

  • 1 cup light vanilla soy milk
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 tbsp milled flaxseed
  • 2 tbsp almond butter

I tried running again today.  I’ve been having a weird problem with my right ankle.  It doesn’t bother me when I’m actually running, but when I slow down to walk it starts to hurt.  It’s not a sharp pain, more of a cramp-like pain.  It goes away after awhile, and I can run a little more, but when I switch to a walk it suddenly starts to hurt again.  I ran for 17 min straight (1.55 miles) when I started because I knew that as soon as I stopped, I was going to feel the pain.  Has anyone else had similar problems?  It’s really annoying.

One response to “Ginger Perfume

  1. Tofu still doesn’t look appealing with that good stuff. I’d eat the other, but I can’t bring myself to tofu land.

Leave a Reply

