It Began and Ended with Magnolia

Our Sunday in Austin started out with good intentions.  We were going to start our day with brunch at Magnolia Cafe, and then head to the capitol building, followed by Guadalupe Street, and then maybe a trip to Barton Springs or other shopping.  We headed to Magnolia Cafe and put our name on the waiting list.

After 30 minutes of waiting, the second migraine hit.  Please skip down two paragraphs if you don’t want to hear my sob story – but I’m going to write about it anyway.  Of course, seconds after the migraine hit, they called our name to announce our table was ready.  Pat and I booked it out of there.  Unlike the day before, I did not have my migraine meds on me.  We rushed to the nearest CVS… and they were closed.  Pat found another CVS that was open… and they were out of stock on my migraine meds.  At this point, the worst was starting to hit me.  CVS was nice enough to call around other to other pharmacies in the area, and found an HEB nearby with my meds in stock.

HEB took about 30 minutes to fill my prescription… and then informed me that my prescription is no longer covered by my insurance.  Are you kidding me?!  They gave us the name of the nearest urgent care clinic.  At this point (over 2 hours after the onset of the migraine) I wasn’t able to keep any liquids down, so I wound up in the clinic with 2 shots.  They helped, and I felt much better, but they really knocked me out.  I ended up sleeping until close to 5 PM.

Well after this eventful day, I woke up hungry, and remembered seeing that Magnolia Cafe served breakfast all day – so we decided to go back and try again 🙂  This time was a success!  I ordered the vegetarian omelet with egg whites and a side of black beans and fruit.

The omelet was nothing special, but I’m not sure what I should have expected.  The avocado in it was really good, but I forgot to order it without mushrooms and ended up picking them all out.  The black beans were really good though – just a little spicy.

After dinner, we set out to find some frozen yogurt.  We stopped by Swirll, where you self-serve your yogurt and toppings.  I tasted the NY Cheesecake and Cake Batter – and was so impressed by how strong each taste resembled the actual food.  I ended up choosing the NY Cheesecake and added in some strawberries and chocolate chips.  It was so good!

After dessert we decided to drive by the capitol building.  It was one of the sights that was high on Pat’s list, and we didn’t make it in time for visiting hours.  But we still got a good view from the outside.

I think I was still under the influence of the shots at this point, and I ended up falling asleep by 8:30 PM – and sleeping for 11 hours straight!  I definitely needed the rest.  We hurried home this morning to pick Bailey up from the Pets Hotel.  She seemed to have a great time there!  I was very impressed with the staff.  When we arrived an hour earlier than we had planned, we saw that they had her out behind the front desk and were cuddling with her.  The staff members asked us if we would mind seeing how she would do in the group doggy play camp.  Can you spot our puppy?

She’s the one hiding behind the staff member while trying to sniff out the situation.  We’re so glad to have her home!

If this weekend wasn’t enough excitement, take a look at what happened when we got home… Pat decided to be good and take care of the lawn.  As he was cutting the grass in our backyard, a rock flew up and hit the back window.

Yep, millions of glass pieces everywhere.  At least the part that broke was on the outside – no glass in the house.  And I guess the silver lining was that the previous owners had left their extra door (with a doggy door built in) in the garage for us “just in case” we might ever want it.  What luck!

Leave a Reply

