Curry Lentil Soup

Tonight’s dinner was not my best, but I thought I would share it all the same.  It was a mix of whatever I could find in our fridge and pantry.  Pat said it tasted “healthy” – which is code for good enough to eat, but not a favorite.  I think it was just missing something… Pat said it was missing salt.  Which again, made it taste healthy.

The ingredients:

  • 1 cup lentils
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1.5 cups lite coconut milk
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1.5 tbsp curry
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • small handful of almonds, chopped

In one pot, I mixed the lentils, water and onion.  I boiled the water and then let it all simmer for about 30 minutes.

In a second pot, I mixed the rest of the ingredients.  It didn’t look very pretty, so I’ll spare you the “in progress” pictures and skip straight to the main course.  Once everything was cooked, I combined the two pots and stirred.

Looks tasty, no?  We are in desperate need of a trip to the grocery store!

Leave a Reply

