Couch to 5k – Week 1

I’ve really been struggling with my running lately.  I really try, but I seem to keep hurting myself.  If it’s not my left knee it’s my right ankle.  I think my biggest problem is that I try to do too much at one time.  I go through spurts where I run every day for a week, trying to top my time each day, and then wind up hurt and off the treadmill for a week.

I’m not ready to give up on running.  I would really love to run a 5k some day.  I’ve heard about the Couch to 5k program before, but I always thought it would be so boring – 9 weeks before you can actually run 5k??  Well if my problem is that I’m trying to do too much too fast, then maybe the Couch to 5k program could actually help to give me some discipline.  With only 3 workouts a week, it will force me into some rest days.  Plus, I’m less likely to get burned out and give up on the routine since it’s only 3 short workouts a week.

Week Workout 1 Workout 2 Workout 3
1 Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes

 

Week 1 – Workout 1  (June 4, 2010)

  • Total Time:  25:00
  • Miles:  1.73
  • Walked at 3.3 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph

I honestly thought this was going to be too easy.  It looked like it was going to be too much walking and not enough running.  I upped my speed to 6.0 mph for a bit more of a challenge – normally I would run around 5.5-ish mph.  I was in for a surprise.  After more than a week off the treadmill, this actually did feel challenging.  I wasn’t exhausted by the end, and felt like I could have done more, but by 20 minutes my heart was going and I was actually glad that I was almost done.

Week 1 – Workout 2  (June 6, 2010)

  • Total Time:  25:00
  • Miles:  1.74
  • walked at 3.3 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph

I was surprised by the difference between day 1 and today.  It really was easier on me.  After 25 minutes, I still wasn’t as tired as I was at 20 minutes two days ago.  I really could have done more – and I didn’t even feel like I needed to ice my knee or my ankle after my run today.  I feel ready to move on to week 2 (I want a new challenge), but I will stick with the program and will do one more week 1 workout first.

Week 1, Workout 3 (June 8, 2010)

  • Total Time:  25:00
  • Miles:  1.78
  • warmed up at 3.3 mph, walked at 3.4 mph, jogged at 6.1 mph

I know I decided to do the C25k program because I didn’t want to push myself harder than I should be, but today’s workout was mental for me.  I needed to at least feel like I was challenging myself even slightly more than the last 2 runs, so I upped the speeds just slightly.  It didn’t make much of a difference in my overall distance, but at least I felt like I was pushing myself harder.  Plus, my goal is to run my first 5k in 30 minutes.  to do that I will need to run at 6.2 mph, so I need to push the speed a little.  I’ll go back to running 6.0 when I run Week 2’s first run.

Maybe it was mental, but I was tired after the first 20 minutes.  It wasn’t that my legs were giving out or I couldn’t catch my breath – I just wanted to stop.  My last 60 second run was tough – I was watching as I completed each 10 second interval until it was finished. 

Overall, I feel good – and ready to take on next week’s challenge!  Week 1 was good for building confidence, but as I look ahead at what’s coming, I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep the same pace.  We will see how it goes on my next run!

One response to “Couch to 5k – Week 1

  1. Pingback: Couch to 5k – Week 4 « Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

