Rainbow of Veggies

I left my camera cord at work yesterday, so I had no way to share my wonderful pictures of last night’s dinner with you!  I decided to attempt tofu again.  I tried to cook it a little longer this time, but it still wasn’t crispy – there must be some trick I’m missing out on!  I did season it with pepper, onion powder and garlic powder, which made it taste a little better.

I was inspired by the rainbow tonight – I tried to include as many colors as possible in the veggies.  I’m sure we’ve all heard that we should eat our colors to get a proper mix of nutrients:

  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper
  • cooked in 1 tbsp Smart Balance butter

I also mixed in:

  • 3/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1.5 tbsp almond butter

I brought the mixture to a boil and let the veggies simmer.

All served on a bed of brown rice.

It was pretty good, but I’m still not in love with tofu :-/  I still have 3 packs of it in the fridge (it was on sale for $1.50 at Kroger), so we’ll see if I can find some way to prepare it to make it not so tofu-y.

One response to “Rainbow of Veggies

  1. How colorful! The colors are appealing, but I still don’t think I can go for tofu. Glad you and pat are handling it.

Leave a Reply

