Couch to 5k – Week 2

2 Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 90 seconds of jogging and two minutes of walking for a total of 20 minutes. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 90 seconds of jogging and two minutes of walking for a total of 20 minutes. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 90 seconds of jogging and two minutes of walking for a total of 20 minutes.

 

Week 2 – Workout 1 (June 10, 2010)

  • Total Time:  25:00
  • Distance:  1.79 miles
  • Walked at 3.3 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph
I wouldn’t have thought that this workout would be much different from last week’s, but it really was.  The minute and a half runs had me almost out of breath and sweating hard.  I can’t believe that in 8 weeks (??) I will be running that fast for an entire 30 minutes straight.
 
This run was going fine until minute 11, when something traumatic happened.  My iPod ran out of battery.  I’ve mentioned before, running is mental.  Without my iPod, that last 14 minutes felt much longer, but it did allow me to focus more on my running form and how I felt.  I started out thinking that the 2 minute walking breaks were too long.  I wanted to go, go, go.  By 15-16 minutes, I was grateful that I had those 2 minutes.
 
Overall I felt pretty good after this run.  I really didn’t travel farther distance-wise, but it felt like more of a challenge with the longer running stretches.  I’m looking forward to trying it again in 2 days – and hopefully it will continue to feel easier!
Week 2 – Workout 2 (June 12, 2010)
  • Total Time:  25:00
  • Distance:  1.82 miles
  • Walked at 3.4 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph

It’s amazing that the same run was slightly easier the second time around – after only doing it once before.  This felt like a really good work out.  It was enough of a challenge that I was breathing heavy and felt tired in a good way by the end, but it wasn’t so hard that I was gasping for air or desperate to stop running by the end of each 90 seconds.  It was enough of a challenge, though, that I don’t think I will up the speed for the last run of week 2.

Week 2 – Workout 3 (June 14, 2010)
  • Total Time:  25:00
  • Distance:  1.84 miles
  • Walked at 3.4 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph

This run felt pretty easy.  I thought about kicking up the speed a little bit, but kept it at a steady 6.0.  I felt tired by the end, but not so out of breath or exhausted.  I feel ready to take on week 3!

3 responses to “Couch to 5k – Week 2

  1. A 5k? Awesome! If you need a running buddy while I’m there…you’ll know where to find me 🙂

  2. Pingback: Couch to 5k – Week 4 « Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

