Mexican Stir-fry

Dinner last night was especially tasty – one of my better experiments.  I started by picking out the veggies I wanted to use (those that would spoil soon), and I knew I wanted avocado, but I didn’t have a set plan.  I chopped up the veggies and sautéed them in 1 tbsp olive oil:

  • 1 white onion
  • 1/4 red bell pepper
  • 1/4 yellow bell pepper

After that I wanted to add some protein.  I was planning on using the chick’n I had in the fridge (note to mom:  that is fake chicken).  But I also was in the mood for some beans.  So I added both.  I rinsed the beans first, and added my protein to the mix.

And added 1/2 a packet of low-sodium taco seasoning.  I love taco seasoning… of any kind.  It adds a lot of flavor to anything you make.

And finally, the avocado.  It was on it’s last leg, but it still tasted pretty good.

Dig in!

So good I even had seconds.  But I’m still not a fan of the texture of chick’n (this was Smart Strips)… it’s just too rubbery.  I need to find a better chicken substitute – or maybe just stick to beans.

In typical Pat fashion, he had to add cheddar cheese and buffalo sauce 🙂

Definitely on my short list for week night dinners – fast and delicious.  I love avocado 🙂

What is your favorite meat substitute?

3 responses to “Mexican Stir-fry

  1. This looks tasty!! I may have to start using your blog as a how-to guide for cooking in my house next year. Especially since you’re keeping it veggie friendly! And as for the substitute meat thing, I’d say ask Kellie.

  2. Pingback: 2010 Recap | Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

