Mini Empanadas

After visiting Marini’s Empanada House last week, I told one of my friends who lives in Argentina about my first experience with empanadas.  She sent me an easy recipe for basic empanadas.  Although I don’t eat meat, and I don’t like green olives, and of course we don’t have the same dough here that they use, I thought I could still use it as my inspiration for tonight’s dinner.  Mini empanadas!

Ingredients:

  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 package Smart Ground soy crumbles
  • 1/2 cup (or so) vegetable broth
  • 1/2 tbsp cumin
  • dash of salt and pepper
  • Nasoya round wraps

I sauteed the bell pepper and onion in the olive oil.

I then added a little bit of vegetable broth, the soy crumbles, cumin, salt and pepper.  I should have used a bigger skillet, but I didn’t realize how much food I would be putting in there.

I had to add a little more veggie broth throughout because it kept cooking off quickly, and my friend had instructed that the “meat” needs to be moist before going in the oven.  While I worked on the stove, I heated the oven to 350 degrees.  Next, I sprayed the pan with PAM and laid out the round wraps to make the mini empanadas.

I then filled them with the “meat” mixture.  I overfilled them a little too much at first.  These wraps are pretty small and couldn’t hold very much.

Next I folded each wrap over.  At first I tried to be fancy and use a fork to put a pretty print around the seam.  But it wasn’t working right and I lost my patience pretty quickly – and just pinched them together.

You can see which ones I overstuffed.  These wraps were very delicate!  The mini empanadas only needed 5-6 minutes in the oven, just long enough to become a little crispy.  I could have cooked them longer, but I tend to like my food a little more doughy than crispy.

After 3 pans of meat empanadas, I decided to use my last few wraps for dessert empanadas.  I used sugar-free strawberry jelly and just a little bit of almond butter in each one.

These AB & J Mini Empanadas were a big hit!  It’s a good thing I didn’t make too many of them.  Aside from the few I packed up with my lunch tomorrow, and the one or two Pat ate, I finished them off.

We ate our empanadas with some mild salsa.

While I was cooking, Pat and I broke out a bottle of wine.  This “Temptation” wine was a nice birthday gift from our neighbors.  I loved the label!

The wine was really good.  It was very smooth for a red.  I’ll definitely be looking for this one again.

One response to “Mini Empanadas

  1. These look wonderful. Now, I want to see you re-create some of the fabulous desert ones!

Leave a Reply

