Couch to 5k – Week 3

3 Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then do two repetitions of the following:

  • Jog 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
  • Walk 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 400 yards (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 400 yards (or three minutes)
Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then do two repetitions of the following:

  • Jog 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
  • Walk 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 400 yards (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 400 yards (or three minutes)
Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then do two repetitions of the following:

  • Jog 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
  • Walk 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 400 yards (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 400 yards (or three minutes)

 

Week 3 – Workout 1 (June 15, 2010)

  • Total Time:  23:00
  • Miles:  1.68
  • Walked at 3.3 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph

I planned to take a day off between every run.  But I was so motivated to start week 3 today I thought, why not?  I actually looked forward to this run all day today.  I can’t remember the last time I was actually excited to jump on the treadmill.

After the first set of a minute and a half and three minute run, I felt pretty good.  I was nervous about doubling the running time to 3 minutes.  It’s not I think 3 minutes is a long time to run – but I usually don’t run at 6.0 mph (usually closer to 5.5 mph), and I’ve been out of shape for awhile now.

I felt good until the last minute of the second 3 minute run.  It was like I suddenly lost my breath and my stamina.  Maybe it was mental.  But that last minute was rough.  I had a cramp in my side by the end of it… I probably didn’t drink enough water before the run.  But I’m glad I pushed through it.  It’s good to know that the first run of the week is always the worst.  This week is downhill from here!

Week 3 – Workout 2 (June 18, 2010)

  • Total Time:  23:00
  • Miles:  1.70
  • Walked at 3.4 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph

I was worried about how this would go after skipping two days instead of one, but it wasn’t bad.  My feet were actually really sore yesterday so it was probably good that I took an extra rest day.  This was easier than workout 1 this week, but I was still pretty tired that last minute of the 3 min run.  I’m hoping the last run this week will go even better!

Sidetracked

On June 19, I ran outdoors with my sisters.  We had a nice run in the hot Texas heat, but it wore me out.  On June 20, we spent over 7 hours walking at the outlet stores.  By Monday my body needed a rest.  Unfortunately, that rest day turned into 6 rest days.  I walked twice, but I didn’t make it onto the treadmill.  Not because I was too tired all week, I just got too busy and my workouts were what I sacrificed.  But that is no excuse!

Today (June 27) I ran the week 3 training run.  I walked slowly for 25 minutes first while talking to my family on the phone before starting the training run.  It went pretty well, but I could tell the difference from not running for a week.  I made it through, but I was not prepared for the last 3 minute run.  I think I am going to do this run one more time before moving onto week 4.

Total time today was 50 minutes; 2.81 miles total; 1.66 miles training.  Walked at 3.3 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph.  I will get back on track this week!

July 3, 2010 – Week 3 run

I was not prepared to move onto week 4 yet, after another break from running, so I did the week three run for what was supposed to be the last time.  Until I realized how difficult it still was for me, which led me to do the week 3 workout just one more time:

July 5, 2010 – Week 3 – Workout 3

  • Total Time:  23:00
  • Miles:  1.68
  • Walked at 3.3 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph

This one is still difficult, but I think I’m just going to have to move on and try week 4 next week.  This week has dragged on long enough!  I’m determined to keep up with my workouts and find time on Wednesday to get this run in.  I still find the last three minutes difficult.  The only difference was that this time, after the second 1.5 min run, I felt like the 1.5 min walk was long enough for me to cool down and feel better prepared for the last 3 min run.  It was still rough though, and I am dreading week 4, but I guess it’s time for me to get over any nerves and just give it a try!

Leave a Reply

