Italian Couscous and Beans

I needed something simple for dinner tonight, and I wanted to use the mountain of couscous we have sitting in our pantry.  I went a little overboard on the bulk bins last weekend.  When I saw this recipe on Oh She Glows today, I thought it would be perfect.  Couscous, tomato sauce, carrots, black beans, garlic, basil & oregano.  It all sounded so good!

I cooked 2 cups of couscous (I LOVE how quickly couscous cooks).  I put 1 carrot (I don’t really like carrots), 4 cloves garlic (I love garlic), basil and oregano in the magic bullet, and then mixed it in along with a can of tomato sauce.

The result was fantastic!

I will definitely be making this one again!  It’s something easy where I could keep the ingredients on hand (maybe substituting bell pepper for carrot), and make whenever I don’t have as much time or energy to put into cooking.

Why am I not cooking so much this week?  We’re preparing for some special guests this weekend 🙂  And I need to clean the kitchen, not make it worse…

2 responses to “Italian Couscous and Beans

  1. Pingback: Old Favorites « Home Sweet Houston

  2. Pingback: 2010 Recap | Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

