Cafe Express

As we are still prepping for our special visitors, we’ve done a ton of cleaning around the house.  Is it sad that it takes visitors to motivate us to do more deep cleaning than we normally would?  Probably.  I think we’ve decided that it’s time to hire someone to come once a month… it’s difficult enough to keep up with laundry and dishes, but with limited free time, there are a lot of things I would rather do than clean!!  Like blog 🙂  Anyway, after all our cleaning, we decided to eat out instead of in.

Cafe Express is a local (and Dallas) chain.  Every time I go there I’m reminded that they are a little over-priced, but the food is good and fast, and it’s healthy.  This was the first time I had been there since becoming a vegetarian, and there were plenty of options – multiple salads, vegetarian black bean soup, pasta, and a veggie hummus sandwich.  When Pat ordered a cheeseburger, I thought a burger sounded good – and was happy to see that they offered veggie patties for all their burgers!

I ordered the California Burger with a veggie patty on a wheat bun – fresh sliced avocado, monterey jack cheese, oven roasted artichoke hearts and tomatoes.  It wasn’t listed on the menu, but this also came with red onion and lettuce.  For my side, I ordered fruit.

The cali burger was good, but probably not worth the $10 it cost.  Although I am always impressed by the variety of fruit that it comes with – including grapes, apples, blueberries and kiwi.  The veggie patty was huge, but there were just 3 small slices of avocado – this burger could have used a lot more avocado 🙂

Still my favorite source of healthy fats!

Leave a Reply

