Grill and Wine

After all the rain we’ve been having in Houston, Pat and I decided that last night would be a good movie night.  Pat was in the mood to grill a steak, so I was left to fend for myself.  We made a run to Kroger and picked up Shutter Island at the Red Box.

While Pat prepared his steak…

I picked out a side dish from the Joy of Cooking.

I decided to make a recipe loosely based on the Corn Chowder recipe in the book.  More on that in a minute… while making dinner, we both enjoyed a glass of wine.  We couldn’t decide between red or white at Kroger, so we got one of each.  Pat tried the Mark West Pinot Noir.  We were both really disappointed with it – I couldn’t drink more than a sip or two.  I went with the Chateau Ste Michelle Harvest Select Riesling.

Chateau Ste Michelle Riesling is one of my favorites, but I hadn’t tried the Harvest Select Riesling before.  It was even cheaper than the normal version ($8), but very sweet and not too acidic.  I really liked it, and would buy it again.

Back to the corn chowder.  I cooked up 4 slices of the Morning Star Bacon.  This stuff is really good – it actually tastes like bacon and gets nice and crispy if you cook it long enough.

I chopped up 1 yellow onion and the slices of bacon, and mixed it all in a pot with 1 can of sweet corn.  I added in about a cup of light soy milk, a tbsp of smart balance butter and a dash of pepper.

It tasted better than it looked!  I also made myself a Morning Star California Turk’y Burger, eaten on a sandwich thin with Laughing Cow garlic & herb cheese.  And ketchup.

After dinner we put on Shutter Island.  It was a good psychological thriller.  It made me really jumpy!  We’re heading to the red box soon to exchange it for another movie…

What good DVDs have you watched lately?

Leave a Reply

