Tofu Pot Pie

I’ve made Hungry Girl’s chicken pot pie recipe before, but I attempted to make a tofu version of it tonight.  I was determined to make tofu a little more edible this time, and cooked it until it was nice and crispy.  I also cooked it in a little bit of olive oil and ground pepper.

I think it turned out much better tonight.  I defrosted 3 cups of veggies.  I use the Kroger frozen vegetable mixes.  Tonight’s included onion, corn, red pepper, okra, green beans, potatoes, and celery.  I wish I could get rid of the okra and green beans.  Confession:  I tossed some of the okra – it was taking over my veggie bowl and I didn’t like the looks of it!  I mixed the veggies and tofu together with 98% fat-free cream of celery soup.  The whole mixture goes into a round pan.

Since I didn’t think the tofu would need as much time in the oven as chicken (and the veggies were already warm from being defrosted in the microwave), I only put the pan in the oven for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.  I then added some Pillsbury crescent rolls and baked it all for another 10 minutes.  Pat likes his crust a little more cooked than I do, so I always serve myself and then put it back in the oven for a few more minutes.

It turned out great!  This was always one of my favorite recipes when I made it with chicken – easy, and very few ingredients.  I’m happy I can add this one back into our regular mix!

We went to see Toy Story 3 in 3D this afternoon.  It was the first 3D movie I’ve been to (aside from rides at amusement parks), and it definitely grew on me.  At first I didn’t like the glasses because they were too big.  Note to self:  ask for children’s size glasses next time.  I felt a little sick at first with all the movement in 3D – but by the end of the movie, I got used to it.

Toy Story 3 was great.  I was reluctant to go see it at first, but Pat and I had heard such great things about it, I’m glad we went.  It was hilarious and thrilling at the same time.  At one point a kid in the theater yelled out in fear, and I realized how tense I was in suspense of what would happen next.  Also, I enjoyed the previews for other kid’s movies that are coming out soon – now I really want to see Despicable Me!

5 responses to “Tofu Pot Pie

  1. its funny cuz ive had both chicken and tofu pot pies. and the tofu one WAS MUCH MORE DELICIOUS! both never looked as good as this tho!!! ❤

  2. How did the okra work out in it?

  3. Pingback: 2010 Recap | Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

