Buffalo Grille & Sloppy Joes

When we were up early this morning, Pat and I decided that it would be a good day to go out for brunch.  We tried Buffalo Grille on Bissonnet once before and loved it, but every time we’ve been back since, the line has been out the door (and it’s either been raining or too hot for us to want to wait),  so we would decide to go elsewhere for food.  Thinking that many people would be hung over or sleeping in this morning, we decided to try our luck.

There was no line – and even better, there was parking right out front!  I ordered a three egg omelet (with egg whites), with onion, bell pepper and cream cheese, and a side of whole wheat toast.

It came out with no cream cheese on it – fairly tasteless.  I went back to the counter and told them there was no cream cheese and asked for some on the side.  The lady at the counter didn’t say a word, but handed me a small container of cream cheese, so that was fine.  But it wasn’t as good as last time we went – when the cream cheese was cooked into the omelet 🙂

After brunch, we had a nice, lazy day at home.  Bailey enjoyed some lazy time too.  One of her new favorite spots is on our rug, with her head on a pillow.

We did make a stop at Borders today.  I picked up a vegetarian cookbook and the Vegetarian Beginner’s Guide:  Everything You Need to Know to Be a Healthy Vegetarian.  I’ve found plenty to eat, but it’s always fun to have new ideas, and I wanted to read up a little more on being a “healthy” vegetarian.

Do you have any suggestions for vegetarian cookbooks or other books on vegetarianism?

Dinner tonight was sloppy joes.  Sloppy Joes was one of the first recipes I learned when I first started cooking my junior year of college.  They were fairly easy, used only a few ingredients, and were tasty without too many calories at the same time.  I haven’t made them in a long time, but decided to try them with some soy crumbles.

I started by sautéing some veggies in olive oil:

  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 3 tbsp chopped garlic

Then I added in the soy crumbles and 1 Roma tomato:

Next I added in the rest of the ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup ketchup
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp yellow mustard
  • a dash of pepper

I ate them on some wheat thins.  Just as good as I remembered!

5 responses to “Buffalo Grille & Sloppy Joes

  1. im quite impressed that u made this meatless! i really gotta give this a try! as a kid i ate sloppy joes all the time but it was all beef and i always felt really sluggish after eating one. i would totally love to make this with tempeh actually! ❤

    mm and what a good sized yummy omelet!!

    xoxo

  2. Your sloppy joes look much better than any I had as a kid! Baily looks cute on the pillow. We are looking forward to seeing her here.

    Did I tell you there is a new Hungry Girls book out for drinks and appetizers? That should be a good consideration for your list.

  3. Pingback: 2010 Recap | Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

