Couch to 5k – Week 4

4 Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 2-1/2 minutes)
  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 2-1/2 minutes)
  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 2-1/2 minutes)
  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

 

Week 4 – Workout 1 (July 10, 2010)

  • Total Time:  26:30
  • Miles:  2.17
  • Walked at 3.3 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph

I was dreading this workout.  I had mentally prepared myself to fail, which probably was not a good way to start.  But I have not been keeping up with this program as consistently as I should, so I’m not sure what I expected out of this workout.  It’s been 5 days since my last c25k run… and I considered quitting the program.  Maybe now’s not the best time for me to start something like this, but I really want to try to keep up with it.

I’m embarrassed to write this, but I must confess:  I paused the treadmill twice during this workout.  The first time was around minute 15.  I had run the first 3 minutes and first 5 minutes and began to walk, when I developed a bad cramp in my side.  The pain was so sharp, I paused the treadmill so I could get off and cool down for a few minutes.  Determined not to give up completely, I got back on and ran the next 3 minutes.  And then stopped again.  I needed to let my heart rate drop a bit and catch my breath before attempting the last 5 minutes.  It was a good thing I did… I struggled through those last 5 minutes, but did not stop.

I expected to feel really good after this workout, but I was in pain (in my side) and it took a long time to get my heart rate back down.  I ended up walking until I hit a total time of 45 minutes.  I did not enjoy this workout, which makes me wonder why I even plan to continue… but I think if I could keep up with it every other day like I did when I started, maybe it wouldn’t be so bad.  And I did make it through all the running parts!

Week 4 – Workout 2 (July 12, 2010)

  • Total Time:  26:30
  • Miles:  2.18
  • Walked at 3.3 mph, jogged at 6.0 mph

This run did go just a little bit easier.  I only had to stop once – I made it through the second 3 minute run before stopping.  I probably could have pushed through, but my heart was racing and I was struggling to catch my breath, so I stopped for a few minutes, then got back on for the last 5 minute run.

Lady Gaga got me through the first three minutes easy, and helped with the first five minute run.  Did I mention I’m going to see Lady Gaga in two weeks??  Good music definitely helps make the time fly.  I really struggled with the last five minutes, but I also spent half of it searching for a song to get me through.  I need to update my playlist!

Did you miss the first 3 weeks of my Couch to 5k training?

Week 1

Week 2

Week 3

4 responses to “Couch to 5k – Week 4

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! You are doing it! It’s ok if you have to stop sometimes–it’s part of the journey.

  2. actually thats really good that u listened to ur body yet let urself push on too. it will definitely get better for you once ur body finds its strides and is able to build itself up- you;re doing good tho love!!!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

