Egg Souffle

Breakfast this morning was delicious.  But before I get to that… Bailey has been trying to tell us something lately.  She has a fleece blanket that has always been hers, which is kept inside her crate.  This morning, she kept pulling it out.

At first we thought she just wanted us to wash it.  It had been washed less than a week ago, but we threw it in again anyway.  And as soon as I put it back in her crate, she pulled it right out again.

Doesn’t she look like she’s just daring me to take it back from her?  She’s pulled it out yet again, and is lying on it in front of the TV as I write.  I think she is telling us she doesn’t want to sleep in the crate anymore.

Okay, back to the souffle.  I tried a Joy of Cooking recipe, and it came out very tasty.  You start by making a white sauce: 

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 cup light soy milk
  • ground black pepper
  • nutmeg

Next up I prepared the pan.  I don’t have a deep souffle dish, so I thought this one would have to do.  I dusted it with flour and a little Monterey jack cheese.

Next up were the egg whites.  I whipped up 6 egg whites.  The recipe said to mix them until they were stiff, but all I could get were a few bubbles.  Does anyone have suggestions for this?

Then I mixed 3 egg yolks and the egg whites in with the rest of the batter.  Instead of shredded cheese (which I was out of), I used 4 wedges of Laughing Cow swiss cheese.  I loved it!

I poured the batter into the pan and baked it on 350 degrees for 25 minutes.  Maybe not so beautiful, but it tasted great!

It got really thin within minutes of being out of the oven.  It was very dense and moist.  We ate almost the entire pan!

9 responses to “Egg Souffle

  1. I love Bailey’s dark chocolate color.

    and I love anything to do with eggs! yum!

  2. And what was Bailey trying to tell you?
    Why did she pull out her fleece blanket?

    Thanks I tried the souffle. It was too eggy but like it.

  3. OMG!!! Puppy is SOOOOOOOOO CUTE!!!! I LOVE!!!

    Nice looking egg souffle!

  4. I liked the Bailey pictures. Maybe she wants to sleep out of the crate, or maybe she just likes lying on HER blanket wherever she is. Matty loved sleeping in his crate long after he had to. It is nice to see her attached to the blanket.

    I loved the look of the food. Did you try using a mixer for the egg whites? It can go at speeds that we can’t by hand. It looks like it came out great anyway.

    • It could be that she just likes her blanket. I tried to convince Pat that we should try letting her sleep out of the crate, but with her history of trash-eating, he wasn’t ready to trust her yet…

      I should try a mixer with the egg whites. I don’t have an electrical mixer, but I bet that would help. I’ll have to get one!

  5. lol she kept pulling it out! haha that pretty cute!

    mm an eggy souffle!! looks DELISHHH ❤

  6. Pingback: 2010 Recap | Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

