Root, Root, Root for MY Home Team

I love weekend brunch, when I have time to make breakfast food I don’t get to eat during the week.  My breakfast during the week is always oatmeal with fruit.  It’s quick, healthy, and easy to take to work.  But nothing beats a big breakfast with eggs and (fake) bacon.

Scrambled eggs with pepper and cheddar cheese, wheat thins with butter and fake bacon for Pat.

I had a big brunch:  egg white wrap with Laughing Cow French Onion cheese, red and yellow bell pepper and pepper, fake bacon, 1/2 wheat thin with almond butter, blueberries and strawberries.

Lunch was an Amy’s cheddar cheese burrito.  These things are delicious – we buy them in bulk at Costco.  I could eat these every day!

Our dinner plan was to eat at the ballpark.  We went to see the Astros play the Cincinnati Reds, my real home team.  I’m happily becoming an Astros fan, but the Reds still had my heart first, so I had to root for them.  I really embarrassed Pat, cheering loudly as the Reds beat the Astros 7-0.

I was planning on getting a $4 veggie dog – I had one last time I went to Minute Maid Park.  However, when I ordered one last night, I got a blank stare from the girl.  “A what??”  A veggie hot dog.  “We don’t have those.”  Yes you do… it’s on the sign behind you.  The manager came over and informed me that they didn’t have any.  So why was it listed on the sign?

Well I still had to eat, but didn’t want to pay $8 for a slice of cheese pizza, SO… I had Blue Bell ice cream for dinner.  Butter pecan ice cream in a waffle cone.  And it was delicious.

But when we got home, I needed some “real” food.  So I heated up some veggie chick’n wings.

We watched Leap Year while eating the wings and drinking some Riesling.  It was a cute movie – it didn’t get great reviews, but I enjoyed it.  Even Pat admitted it was entertaining 🙂  It was a great, relaxing night!

2 responses to “Root, Root, Root for MY Home Team

  1. Glad to see you are loyal to the Reds. The ice cream looked better than a veggie dog would taste anyway!

  2. Amy’s burritos are fabulous!!! I can never find anything reasonable at the ball park, it’s all so over priced! That’s annoying that they had a sign for veggies dogs, with no veggie dogs…sheesh! Ice cream for dinner is always good though, lol….you go! Haha….thanks for teh b-day wished btw 🙂

Leave a Reply

