Feel the Burn

After my run tonight, I felt the burn.  I haven’t really experienced this before, but when I got in my car after the run, it felt like my legs were on fire.

I ran 5 miles tonight, and my focus was on speed work.  I wanted to do a slow warm up, run a fast mile, recover for a mile, run another fast mile, then cool down for a mile.  I’d say I was successful, but my “recovery” mile was definitely my slowest – I had to walk so much of it, but it seemed to pay off in the next fast mile.

My splits:

  • Mile 1:  11:25
  • Mile 2:  9:17 !
  • Mile 3:  12:50
  • Mile 4:  9:15 !!
  • Mile 5:  11:38
  • Total Time:  54:25 (average pace = 10:53)

I couldn’t believe the 9:15 and 9:17 minute miles – or the fact that there were two of them!  I am not a fast runner, but I saved most of my energy for those two miles and went as fast and as long as I could.  During the beginning of the second fast mile I watched a guy fly by me, and decided to try to keep up with him (at a distance, didn’t want him to think I was stalking!) and I managed to follow him for almost half a mile at a sub-9 minute mile.

I felt really great about the speedy miles, but very sore by the end of it.  I also feel exhausted now – I’m heading to bed!

Leave a Reply

