Trying to Keep Up

My dad was just going easy on me yesterday.  Today I tried to run closer to his normal pace, and I had to quit after 4 miles.  The last 1/2 mile or so was a lot of uphill, and I just couldn’t keep the same pace.  I shouldn’t be too disappointed though, because I still had a personal record for time and distance – 4 miles in under 40 minutes!

  • Mile 1:  9:28
  • Mile 2:  10:09
  • Mile 3:  10:09
  • Mile 4:  10:10
  • Total:  39:58 (average = 10:00)

It’s amazing to me that increasing the pace just slightly has me worn out so much more quickly.  I also looked at my Garmin for the 5k time – 30:47!  I’m not sure I’ll be able to pull off a sub-30 minute 5k for my first race, but I shouldn’t be too far from there.

Leave a Reply

